NYCASE Committees

Professional Development Committee organizes training programs including the summer institute, virtual conferences and co-sponsored events. The offering of regionally based, issue oriented one-day drive in conferences is available based on identified need. 


Dr. Andrew Ecker, [email protected]

Rae Lynn Helman,  [email protected] 


Dr. Selena Fischer, [email protected] 
Yvette Goorevitch, 
[email protected]

Dr. Catherine Guthrie, [email protected]  

Dr. Heidi McCarhy, [email protected]
Kathleen Kieffer, [email protected]

Heather Hendershot, [email protected]

Lea Morganstein[email protected]

Dr. Angela White[email protected]

Dr. Linda Widomski[email protected]

Legislative Committee works on behalf of the membership with the State Education Department and legislature to ensure that effective and appropriate services are made available on behalf of students with disabilities.  The committee works closely with representatives of the New York Council of School Superintendents, School Boards Association, and the Big Five School Districts to coordinate legislative priorities and advise the membership of pending legislation, regulations and best practices.


Lea Morganstein[email protected]


Harry Burg, [email protected]  
Yvette Goorevitch[email protected]

Erin Hill, [email protected]

Rochelle Hoot[email protected]

Lisa Hammel, [email protected]
Lauriel Thomas-McCoy[email protected]


Website Development Committee maintains the web site with up-to-date membership and professional information. The committee reviews and recommends to the Executive Committee web site enhancements and improvements. They are also responsible for periodic informational updates.


Dr. Selena Fischer[email protected]
Dr. Angela White, [email protected]


Dr. Lynn Allen, [email protected]

Kathleen Kieffer, [email protected]

Elizabeth Kennedy[email protected]

Cynthia Johnson, [email protected] 

Heather Hendershot,  [email protected]

Dr. Linda Widomski, [email protected]


Membership Committee is responsible for increasing membership through mailings and advertisements. The committee also recommends ways to manage mailing lists and registrations for conferences.


Cynthia Johnson[email protected] 
Nancy DeStefano, [email protected]


Margie Daniels, [email protected] 

Kathleen Kieffer[email protected]

Ora Perkins[email protected]

Jill Post[email protected]